Making a Shed Website

Home Forums UK Men’s Sheds Forum Starting Sheds Making a Shed Website

This topic contains 13 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Men in Sheds West Bletchley 2 weeks, 6 days ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

fixit9660
    Participant

I’m a complete novice trying to make a website for our new shed. Can anyone give me any help please?

poolekiteman
    Participant

It all depends how simple or otherwise you want to make it – I’ve been writing website code for over 20 years, using Notepad, which makes for simple web pages that do exactly what I want.
    Most of the “free website” providers have their own WYSIWYG editors where you “drag and drop” the components where you want to see them on the screen
    I’ll paste in links to a couple of them for you to have a look – and a link to one of my “home brew” websites – HTH – Richard
    https://www.squarespace.com/
    http://www.weebly.com
    http://www.grumpyoldgits.org

fixit9660
    Participant

I would like to copy the themes, colours and format of the UK Mens Shed Association website, in order to follow the lead and show our membership, etc. I have permission.

I’m only looking for a one or two pager site.

I’ve downloaded the code and hacked it with Notepad but there’s a load of stuff in there, and I think I’ve already broken some of it.

poolekiteman
    Participant

You may think you got all the source code, but there will most likely be lots of associated files (Javascript and CSS etc) which will also be needed to make the original UKMSA code work properly.

If you already hacked the code, without being very familiar with HTML and website structure, then that may have been a mistake.

I have taken over a few websites originally compiled by others, and it was a hard, long, tedious job every time, to edit the code and end up with a good looking website that is user friendly and easy to navigate.